“Anything worth doing is worth doing badly” – G.K. Chesterton

A little less than two months before bringing a screaming, pooping, ravenous baby soul into the world might not be the best time to start a blog, which, I hear requires (or ought to) diligence, fortitude, and the mental stamina to support at least minute forms of creativity. Well, too bad!

I’ve been learning these past few months of pregnancy and near bed rest that I am quite a bit more extroverted than I thought. This is one of my chosen mediums to reach out, to be in the world, while staying in my 595 square foot apartment. (Sorry, apartment powers that be, the patio should not count in the square footage you advertise.) And in this time, I have been on the computer. A lot. Netflix has been salvific, as well, but there are only so many (quality) seasons of Psych, Magic School Bus, and Gilmore Girls to keep me entertained. (I’m looking at you Gilmore Girls; I’m not liking where you are going.) Working from home – Thanks, Dad! – is a pretty sweet deal. I do miss the old folks (they keep dying without me!) and the old man. On the upside, I have had plenty o’ time to research and be overwhelmed by word-brawls over cloth-diapering, breastfeeding, raising kids, running a frugal, well-fed, spotless, minimalist, well-designed, DIY’ed, bright and cheerful home. (Figuratively,) What did stay at home moms do before the internet?

I hope that here I will be able to better explain my thoughts to myself – and, maybe, think them in the first place (journaling is so last century). There will be no theme (that I can foresee). I don’t anticipate monetizing, actively pursuing a greater flow of traffic, or becoming a published author. They say that men are like waffles and women are like spaghetti. I’m just trying to organize my spaghetti a little, and to make “verse out of the prose of each day.”

Leave a Reply

