As we dream of the simple life, let us not blame our children for technology

As we dream of the simple life, let us not blame our children for technology

As someone who grew up in an environment where my family had unhealthy relationships with screens, and now as the spouse of a man who provides for our family via screens and who likes to play videogames in his free-time, I needed to read this. Since I met him, I’ve been working on seeing them as tools – neither good nor bad until paired with our circumstances and intentions, but I certainly have my hangups and this article helps.

3 thoughts on “As we dream of the simple life, let us not blame our children for technology

  1. It’s so difficult to break the habit of looking at screens. I know I struggle with it often. I have this feeling that when our children see us as role models who look at screens all day, it is what they might become as they grow older.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely! Not only do they want to do what we do, but obviously this is something we see as important, so it’s no wonder they value them so much, as well. Striving to practice self-discipline and strike a healthy balance!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Definitely! I know I used to set time limits for myself, and they never really worked. I was like, “Ah well, what’s another 15 minutes?” I’m sure they feel the same way.

        Like

Leave a Reply

